Lab Members‎ > ‎

Hiren Patel [see instructions]

Department of Biophysics and Chemistry
930 N. University Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI, 48109

(734) 763-9318


Ph.D., Pharmaceutical Science,  2013

    University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    Advisor: Heiko Heerklotz

    Thesis: "Understanding the Fungicidal Activity of Lipopeptides on the Basis of their Biosurfactant Properties"

H.Bsc., Pharmaceutical Chemistry,  2008

    University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Research Projects

  • Amyloid-membrane, antimicrobial peptide-membrane interactions
  • Structural studies of amyloid proteins (IAPP and Amyloid-beta) using a variety of biophysical experiments


H. Patel, C. Tscheka, K. Edwards, H. Heerklotz. All-or-none membrane permeabilization by fengycin-                          type lipopeptides from Bacillus subtilis QST713. Biochimica et Biophysica Acta, 2011.

H. Patel, G. Raval, M. Nazari, H. Heerklotz. Effects of Glycerol and Urea on Micellization, Membrane Partitioning, and     Solubilization by a Non-ionic Surfactant. Biophysical Chemistry, 2010, 150.

H. Patel, C. Tscheka, H. Heerklotz. Characterizing vesicle leakage by fluorescence lifetime measurements.               Soft matter, 2009, 5, 2849-2851.

Oral Presentations 

 Isothermal Titration Calorimetry: a versatile technique (tool) to understand lipid-peptide interactions. Invited         Workshop Speaker at GE Healthcare’s DiPIA Conference, Boston, Nov 2011.

Effects of Glycerol and Urea on Micellization, Membrane Partitioning, and Solubilization by a Non- ionic                    Surfactant. Giauque Award lecture at the 65th Calorimetry Conference, Colorado Springs,July 2010.

Academic Awards

  • William Knaap Buckley Graduate Fellowship, 2012
  • Hoffmann-La Roche/Rosemarie Hager Graduate Fellowship, Univ of Toronto, 2011.
  • Short Stay Fellowship Award from University of Utrecht, Netherlands, 2011.
  • William F. Giauque Award for Calorimetry Conference-CALCON, 2010
  • Ben Cohen Bursary Award from University of Toronto, 2009-10
  • Julia Conn Watt Scholarship Award, 2009
  • Queen Elizabeth II aiming for Top Scholarship Award, 2004-05