Collaborative Projects

Collaboration with research groups at Michigan:

  • Dr. Richard Auchus in the Department of Internal Medicine & Pharmacology: Characterization of the structure and dynamics of cytochrome B5, cytochrome P450, and their interactions with one another, using solution NMR and solid-state NMR techniques.

  • Dr. Magdalena Ivanova (Biophysics and Neurology), Dr. Charles Brooks (Department of Chemistry and Biophysics), Dr. Yanzhuang Wang (MCDB), Dr. Brandon Ruotolo (Department of Chemistry), Dr. Matthew Chapman (Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology), Dr. Akira Ono (Department of Immunology and Microbiology): Investigation of the protein misfolding, protein aggregation and implications in Alzheimer's Disease and other amyloid diseases. IDPs and viral infection.

  • Dr. Stephen Ragsdale (Biological Chemistry), Dr. Randy Stockbridge (Biophysics and MCDB), Dr. Wenjing Wang (Department of Chemistry and LSI): Structural biology of membrane proteins.

  • Dr. Zhan Chen (Department of Chemistry and Biophysics) and Dr. Kenichi Kuroda (Department of Chemistry and Biomedical Engineering, and the School of Dentistry): Structural and functional studies on antimicrobial and anticancer polypeptides, and their membrane-disruptive behavior.

  • Dr. Adam Matzger in the Department of Chemistry: Structural characterization of polymorphic pharmaceutical compounds using solid-state NMR.

  • Dr. Nicholas A. Kotov in the Department of Chemical Engineering: High-resolution structural studies on nanomaterials.

Collaborations with research groups outside Michigan:

  • Dr. Carol Fierke, Brandeis University, Boston USA

  • Dr. Bernd Reif at the Technical University of Munich, Germany: Protein aggregation.

  • Dr. Yusuke Nishiyama (RIKEN & JEOL Co., Japan): Ultrafast-MAS solid-state NMR spectroscopy.

  • Bruker NMR (Bellerica, USA): DNP solid-state NMR studies

  • Dr. Ehud Gazit (Tel Aviv University, Israel), Dr. Yifat Miller (Ben Gurion University, Israel), Dr. Carmelo La Rosa (University of Catania, Italy), Dr. Danilo Milardi (CNRS, Catania, Italy), Dr. Lucie Khemtemourian (Bordeaux, France), Dr. Birgit Strodel (Forschungszentrum Juelich GmbH, Germany), Dr. Young-Hou Lee (KBSI, Korea), Dr. Mi Hee Lim (KAIST, Korea): Protein aggregation.